My 40 before 40

Not much fluff for this post:

  1. Run a 5k (despite not liking to run)
  2. Lower my blood pressure
  3. Cook/Bake at least half of the recipes I have pinned on Pinterest (time is actually working against me here – I pin three in the time it takes me to get around to trying one)
  4. Save at least 1/3 of the money for our trip in 2021 (RTW, here we come!)
  5. Go skiing down an actual, snowy hill
  6. Take a landscape/travel photo that I am proud to enlarge and hang in my downstairs
  7. Finish our bedroom: paint and put up nice curtains
  8. Read more than 10 books in one year (dear lord, this one makes me so sad – I feel like it should say “100” to be a challenge, but alas, this is where I am right now in my life)
  9. Make scrap books of the kids’ art and photos from preschool (1 each?)
  10. Ride my bike up the hill (Country Trail)
  11. Go camping (tent) with the kids
  12. Paint the kids’ bathroom and frame the mirror
  13. Wear a two-piece swimsuit in public and not be mortified
  14. Find a pillow I actually like, then buy a spare one for when it wears out
  15. Organize the linen closet so that it is possible to find and extract exactly what is desired without avalanches and/or cussing
  16. Hang a real window treatment in our bathroom
  17. Deal with the “sad garden” in the backyard and make it pretty again
  18. Make my own vanilla extract instead of buying it
  19. Yardsale/CraigsList/Consign/eBay/Donate the baby items in the garage and the unused “stuff” in the bonus room closet
  20. Visit Savannah, GA
  21. Plant those evergreens we planned to put in the back yard (all 3 of ’em)
  22. Throw a birthday party (for my kid) in my own home
  23. Return to yoga and be able to do a headstand
  24. Roll-over my old 401k into an IRA and add to the balance
  25. Paint the porch pole and put up our house numbers
  26. Take the kids to DC to visit the awesome museums there
  27. Keep a houseplant alive for more than 6 months (better get going!)
  28. Set up chores for the kids and get us all to stick to them
  29. Put up crown moldings or wainscoting in one room where we planned to
  30. Go on a mom and daughter overnight
  31. Go on a mom and son overnight
  32. Volunteer at the kids’ schools/in their classrooms
  33. Volunteer, give back, spread kindness in some capacity (outside of my kids’ schools/classrooms)
  34. Sell something I made – a creative/artistic something
  35. Practice patience – improve
  36. Reduce my “plugged in” time to <15 hours a week (not including work)
  37. Go to the Outer Banks again
  38. Resolve the no-sidewalk issue in front of the house
  39. Try a food I’ve never tried
  40. Plan a fantastic 40th Birthday day to remember!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

