Blueberry Steel-cut Oatmeal Breakfast

I love oatmeal for breakfast. My whole family does, actually. It’s one of those fortuitously already-good-for-us habits we have. (We don’t have a lot of those, so I’m going to bask in this one!)

However, my existing habit is rolled oats and, for convenience sake, my kids have been on packaged oatmeal. But, I started using steel cut oats for myself recently and today we tried the kids on them. Guess what? They liked them! There was zero complaining or hesitance (except the hesitance on my part because I wrongly assumed that any change in their usual would lead to a heavy whining session – there I go imagining problems for myself – what a silly thing to do)!

So here’s my recipe for Blueberry Oatmeal:
(makes 4 servings or double or triple and refrigerate leftovers to reheat in the week)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Steel-cut oats
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 cups milk (you can use all milk or all water – whatever your preference)
  • 2 cups blueberries (you could use any berry you like)
  • cinnamon to taste (I used 2 tsp)
  • 1/4 tsp allspice (optional)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 tbsp chopped walnuts (optional)
  • drizzle of maple syrup or honey (optional)

Directions:

In a medium to large pot over medium high heat add the oats, water, milk, cinnamon, allspice, and vanilla and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to simmer (medium low) and stir occasionally for 20 minutes until oatmeal is thick and creamy.

Place oatmeal in individual bowls (and storage containers for the refrigerator, if you made extra). Wash your fruit and top each bowl with 1/2 cup blueberries. If using walnuts (1 tbsp per bowl) and syrup or honey (drizzle to taste), add them now.

For leftovers, store just the cooked oatmeal in a sealed container in the fridge for up to 5 days. When ready, reheat in the microwave (I add a bit of water to loosen it up); since microwaves vary, you might try starting at 1.5 minutes and working your way up at 30 second intervals until you find what works for you – mine takes about 2 minutes. Then top with your choice of berries, nuts, etc.

Even though we’ve cut down on added sugars, my kids and husband like to add a little maple syrup. For me, plain is perfect.

What’s your go-to breakfast?

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

