Valentine’s Day No-Sew Shirt

Two posts, back-to-back?! Craziness.

Yesterday I mentioned the felt Christmas tree decorations I got from Target’s clearance section. Originally, I had bought just 1 pack of them at 50% off (50 cents for 3). My plan was to make a Valentine’s shirt for my kid. Well, here it is, February 13th and that shirt – yeah, I haven’t made it. But that’s about to change! And for those of you who don’t especially love sewing (or if you just don’t feel like it/don’t have the time – like me) – this is a no-sew project!

Putting it together

You’ll need:

  • 1 t-shirt (I keep an eye on clearance racks for plain t-shirts and have a few set aside that I’ve purchased for less than $2 each)
  • 1 or more hearts (made of felt or cut from scrap fabric or another t-shirt)
  • fabric glue
  • scrap cardboard
  • *optional: ribbons, sequins, sharpie markers

Process:

1. If you’re craftier than I am, cut out your hearts from scrap t-shirts or fabric or, like me, grab already made hearts (I removed the strings that were attached for hanging on a tree).

2. Place the cardboard inside your chosen t-shirt to keep glue from soaking through both layers of your shirt.

3. Glue the hearts and any other decorations onto the shirt.

(*optional: write a message or draw additional hearts with a sharpie)

4. Let the glue dry

5. Let your little somebody wear the shirt!

Done!

Disclaimer: While I’ve used fabric glue before, it has been mostly for things that don’t get washed frequently, so I’m not sure how well this would hold up in the wash – I’ll update after it goes through the laundry once or twice. (The glue dries in 2-4 hours, but it takes 72 hours until laundering is okay.)

The entire process took less than 15 minutes! C’mon – you still have time to make one!

This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

