My House Smells… Good… Really Good

That’s right. For once I’m not referring to the menagerie of children-slash-animals or, as I might on better days, dinner cooking. Nope. This time I’m talking about some seriously delicious smelling scent jars I threw together. These are unbelievably quick and easy to make and really smell incredible. Not to mention, they are really pretty. The original idea comes from Creative Gift & Party Ideas. I altered my jars a bit from what was on this site, based on what I had in my cupboard and refrigerator.

Aren't they pretty? They smell even better than they look!

To fill 3 standard sized Ball jars I used:

  • two lemons, sliced
  • two clementines, sliced
  • one navel orange, sliced
  • six cinnamon sticks
  • three star anise (these are quite strong, so if this scent is not your thing, omit them)
  • fifteen cloves
  • six cardamom pods
  • 3 bay leaves
  • water to top off the jars

I had wanted to add a vanilla bean, but didn’t have one to hand. Still, I imagine it would smell great.

Simply screw on the lid and stick the jar in the fridge until you want to use it.

When you want your house to smell insanely good, just dump the contents into a small pot and set over a low flame… in a short while every corner of your place will smell delicious. Add water as needed.

Then, simply cool it when your done and reload it into the jar and refrigerate – you can reuse it!

To give it as a gift, add a bow, or a scrap of pretty fabric to the lid, or present as-is (after all, it’s quite pretty just the way it is). Don’t forget a tag that lets the receiver know how to use it.

These are easy-peasy, home-made, pretty, and not at all pricey. Personally, I can think of quite a few people who would appreciate one of these. If you make some, please share what your personal recipe.

This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My House Smells… Good… Really Good

  1. Oh, this is a great idea, Jade! I am totally making these for the holidays. Hope you and the family are doing great :).

  2. Pingback: Our Advent Calendar | MamaNut

Leave a Reply

