Turkey Shirts

Before Thanksgiving, I drafted this post… and then didn’t post it. We had a great time with family and friends in PA, celebrating birthdays and Thanksgiving. Here’s the post – I apologize for my tardy publishing!

A while back, when I had thirty minutes to putter around on Pinterest, I saw a shirt that had an added turkey and ribbon feathers (I wish I could find the original post to give credit where it’s due, but I could not find it…) I didn’t repin, I just made a mental note of it, along with the thought that I had plenty of ribbon from craft store clearance sales to bedeck a dozen gobblers. At the time (this was weeks ago), I even picked up a couple of super inexpensive sweatshirts when I went to Walmart (a trip I make every few months only). They were intended for the turkey project. And then time passed. And then I got really busy. I kept telling myself that “next week” I’d have more time to get going on the whole thing. Well, no such thing happened. And then this past week was exhausting. My son kicked off last weekend with a stomach virus and kept on going right through Monday and into the wee hours of Tuesday. Meanwhile, work was demanding of much more time than I had, so that I was literally at my computer morning, noon, and night (and feeling the requisite mommy-guilt for it).

For the entire second half of the week, all I thought of, outside of work and what a stinkerific mom I was being was, “how am I gonna get time to finish those turkey shirts!?” Seriously? So on Friday, as soon as I hit the “send” button and freed myself of my work project, I took off for my sewing machine.

In fact, since it had been a long while since I had seen the photo of the shirt, I figured I would just do what I could from memory and make up the rest. These shirts were surprisingly easy and quick to put together… and the entire project (for two shirts) cost under $10! I cut a $2 brown fleece hat up into two short bowling-pin shapes (one for each shirt), and then I started cutting lengths of ribbon and tucking them under the brown turkey bodies in a pleasing array. For my daughter’s shirt, I went with loop-style ribbon feathers. For my son’s shirt, I did tab-style feathers. Getting the whole thing stuck to shirt was a matter of slowly zig-zag stitching around the fleece shape. That took just minutes. Then I hand-stitched some extras onto the shirt – the beak and wattle (made of ribbon), some fall-leaf buttons I found in my crafting box (the entire packet was 79 cents on clearance), and eyes/sunglasses. I also ended up adding a stitch here and there to keep the longer ribbon pieces from sagging away from the shirt.

Thanksgiving shirts - no, they would not both look at the camera while also showing the shirts - it's either shirts or faces... and shirt won for this photo.

We’re having Thanksgiving with family and family friends this year – it will be a crowd. I hope my kids enjoy their shirts – they’ll be a surprise for them on the day. Normally, with a big event like this, I would endeavor to dress the kids up a bit, but I think they’d prefer the comfort of sweatshirts and jeans. Plus, it’s supposed to be downright chilly where we’ll be giving thanks this year. I’m thankful I found the time to make something special for my kids. I’m thankful my kids are healthy (and that the little one is no longer harboring a stomach virus). I’m thankful for friends and family and for the prospects of a meal with people I care about and who care about me and my family. I have an embarrassment of wonderful things in my life to the point that when thinking of all the things I am grateful for, I honestly don’t think I could finish the list… ever. I’m wishing you a very Happy Thanksgiving, time for what you love, and much to be thankful for.

This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

